The Los Angeles Chapter of the Asian American Journalists Association

WriteGirl BOLD INK Awards at Fox Studios – January 29

WriteGirl, the creative writing and mentoring program that pairs at-risk teen girls with professional women writers, will hold its 3rd annual Bold Ink Awards, which celebrates women whose creative work speaks with an empowering voice.

The event is on Thursday, January 29 at Fox Studios: 7:00 pm – reception and silent auction, followed by the awards ceremony at 8:15 in the Darryl F. Zanuck Theater.

Tickets are $50 per person and must be purchased in advance here:

No tickets will be sold at the door.

Photo ID required for lot drive-on.

Business attire.

All proceeds benefit WriteGirl.

This year’s Bold Ink Award honorees are: Grammy-winning songwriter Diane Warren; screenwriter/director Gina Prince-Bythewood; television writer/producer Jennifer Crittenden; Academy Award nominated screenwriter Naomi Foner; screenwriter/novelist Gigi Levangie; Pulitzer prize-winning journalist Sonia Nazario; novelist Carolyn See; and poet Wanda Coleman.

“These eight women are not only tremendous writers,” said Keren Taylor, WriteGirl’s executive director, “but they are also outstanding role models for the young girls we are mentoring in WriteGirl. We are very excited to honor them for their bold and complex female characters and stories.”

The Bold Ink Awards also will celebrate the release of WriteGirl’s seventh anthology, Listen to Me: Shared Secrets from WriteGirl.