NaomiHayase2016 President: Naomi Hayase
Naomi Hayase is a Japanese-language newspaper editorial researcher. She is going into her 10th year at the Nikkei newspaper’s L.A. bureau, covering local and international news.
2016 Vice President of Broadcast: David Ono
David Ono anchors ABC7 twice a day. As part of the “Eyewitness News” team, he has won eight Emmy awards and 19 nominations. Prior career stops include Sacramento/KOVR-TV, El Paso/KDBC-TV and Dallas/KXAS-TV. David grew up in Texas and graduated from the University of North Texas.
2016 Vice President of Print: Cindy Chang
Cindy Chang covers the LAPD for the Los Angeles Times. She started her career at the Pasadena Star-News, then moved to the Times-Picayune in New Orleans, where her beats included city government, schools and special projects. She was the lead writer for a series on the Louisiana prison system.
2016-2017 Secretary: Elizabeth Chou
Elizabeth Chou reports on Los Angeles city government for the Los Angeles Daily News, and before that, City News Service. She also covered several East Los Angeles and San Gabriel Valley area cities for Eastern Group Publications.
2015-2016 Treasurers: Melissah Yang
Melissah Yang is an Associate News Editor at Bustle. She was previously with the Los Angeles Business Journal, CNN Entertainment, and the Las Vegas Review-Journal. She was an AAJA-LA scholarship recipient and a 2014 Voices participant. Melissah is a music festival traveler, bleeds Dodger blue, and hopes to one day be Carole Radziwill living in Heather Dubrow’s house.
2016-2017 National Advisory Board Representative; National Governing Board Member (Large Chapter): Matt Stevens
Staff writer, Los Angeles Times. Former AAJA-LA Board member, 2012 – 2014
2016-2017 Advisory Board Representative; National Governing Board Member (At Large): Frank Shyong
Frank Shyong is a reporter at the LA Times and a graduate of UCLA and an alumnus of the Voices convention news project.

Board of Directors

2016 Board Member: Susan Hirasuna
Susan Hirasuna is an award winning broadcast journalist and former AAJA-LA board member. At KTTV FOX 11, she heads the weekend version of Studio 11 LA. Last year, she traveled to Japan as a fellow with Foreign Press Center to the 2011 earthquake and tsunami area. Susan has also carved out a reputation as the resident foodie.

2016 Board Member: Sophie Tran
Sophie Bao Tran is a community leader based in Orange County. Recently she was recognized in OC Weekly’s People of 2015 Issue as the “Queen of Little Saigon” for her work with the media, businesses, organizations and charity groups. Currently Ms. Tran works at Little Saigon Television Network as a producer, TV show host and public relations executive. She serves as a Parks, Recreations, and Art Programs commissioner for the City of Garden Grove and hosts various community events.

2016-2017 Board Member: Gita Amar
Gita Amar has been a producer for Fox News Channel, a producer for NPR’s Tavis Smiley Show and a producer at KTTV’s Good Day LA. Gita runs her own media consulting firm working with Fortune 500 Clients on various public relations campaigns. She was a AAJA Board Member in 2005-2006. Gita holds a master’s degree from the S.I. Newhouse School of Communications, a law degree from Syracuse University College of Law and a bachelor’s degree from UCLA.

2016 Board Member: Shawn Nicole WongShawnNicoleWong
Shawn Nicole Wong is an urban consultant who specializes in media and economic development. Beginning in 2015, she will serve as the AAJA National Treasurer and will continue to serve the Los Angeles Chapter as the Director of Finance/Sponsorships for the V3 Digital Media Conference. From 2010-2014, Shawn served as the Treasurer of the L.A. Chapter.

2016-2017 Board Member: Melissa Leu
Melissa Leu is a digital editor at the Los Angeles Times. She used to work on the digital team at ABC7 and as a reporter at the Arizona Republic.

[APPOINTED] 2016 Student Representative: Heidi Carreon
Heidi Carreon is studying print & digital journalism & political science at the University of Southern California. She is a digital reporter for the USC Annenberg Media Center & is the Student Engagement Director for the Student Voice Project. Heidi was a two-time finalist in the 57th SoCal Journalism Awards.
[APPOINTED] 2016 Student Representative: Timmy Truong
Timmy Truong is the former managing editor of the University Times, Cal State L.A.’s student paper, an award-winning student photographer, and a VOICES alumnus.
2015-2016 Board Member: Anh Do
Anh Do covers multicultural communities at the Los Angeles Times. A second-generation journalist, she served as vice president of Nguoi Viet Daily News, the largest Vietnamese-language publication in the US, founded by her late father. She has worked at the Dallas Morning News, Seattle Times and the Orange County Register.

2015-2016 Board Member: Suzanne Joe Kai
Suzanne Joe Kai is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. At age 22, Kai began her career as an on-camera staff broadcast journalist in San Francisco (KRON-TV NBC). She earned an MA in Communication (Documentary/Film/TV) at Stanford. She’s directing a documentary “LIKE A ROLLING STONE: The Life & Times of Ben Fong-Torres.”

2015-2016 Board Member: Hassan Shah
Hassan Shah is a recent graduate in Multimedia Journalism from Metro State University of Denver where he was the Advisory Board Representative of AAJA-Denver. Soon after graduating, Shah moved to Los Angeles where he got involved with V3Con and volunteered for AAJA’s Trivia Bowl. He now resides in Los Angeles.
Asian American Journalists Association. Los Angeles Chapter. Established 1981.