The Los Angeles Chapter of the Asian American Journalists Association

Special Election: Nomination period opens to fill vacant board seat

The nomination period has opened for candidates to run in a special election on Jan. 3-6 to select a new AAJA-LA board member to replace Melissa Leu, who will be vacating the position to become chapter treasurer in 2017. The winner will complete the second year of Melissa’s two-year term on the board that ends Dec. 31, 2017.


The role of the board member is as follows:

BOARD MEMBER: A board member will be informed about AAJA’s mission, services, policies, and programs; serve on committees or task forces and offer to take on special assignments. S/he will advocate for the chapter, help plan chapter events, help recruit members, and participate in fundraising activities. (All AAJA-LA board members are expected to take an active leadership role in the planning/execution of one or more large events.)

The special election schedule:

·  December 27 – Nomination period ends, 5 p.m.

·  December 30 – Announcement of candidates, 5 p.m.

·  January 3 – Voting starts, 5 p.m.

·  January 6 – Voting ends, 12 p.m.

·  January 9 – Announcement of officer-elect via e-mail

ELIGIBILITY: Only current full and student AAJA members are eligible to vote in AAJA elections.


The winner of the special election will serve with the incoming 2017 AAJA-LA board:

2017 President: Ashley Dunn
2017 VP of Programming: Thomas Lauder
2017 VP of Community Engagement: Annie Yu
2017 VP of Career Development: Cindy Chang
2017-2018 Treasurer: Melissa Leu
2016-2017 Secretary: Elizabeth Chou
2017 Board Member: Mariko Lochridge
[Appointed] 2017 Student Representatives: Nuran Alteir 
2016-2017 National Board Representatives: Matt Stevens, Frank Shyong
2016-2017 Board Member: Gita Amar

If you have any questions regarding your membership or the election, please email Board Secretary Elizabeth Chou (


Elizabeth Chou

AAJA-LA Board Secretary